Victory

December 29, 2012

Inspired in part by a line from The Chariot’s “Teach”–“victory is such a lonely word.” Also by the drawings of Lebbeus Woods.

I recently perfected this drawing I’ve planned for a tattoo and yesterday traced a digital version. I may add more but this is the design so far.

This kind of drawing has been developing in my mind for a few years–I’ve loved lines at least since I first saw a blue print and the breakdown of symmetry for some time. However, I was inspired by the feelings I get from what I call “deconstructivist music” and even more so by Lebbeus Woods. As much as I like the lines in their nakedness, I don’t see this style as complete any more than I see my work or identity as complete; eventually I hope it will evolve into something else inspired by its basic forms. In allowing myself to concentrate on simple designs, which I do for most of my drawings, I plan to develop the underlying structure for my designs in the long run. Click for bigger image.
5 Responses to “Victory”

  1. 12kilroy Says:

    Can you explain what you mean by deconstructivist? Specifically – how it applies to music.

    I only ask because deconstruction is one of those words that means (to me) somewhat different things in different contexts.


    • Deconstruction is a form of literary analysis started by Derrida that somehow inspired a movement in architecture called deconstructivism. When I found out about deconstructivism in a class on modern architecture it reminded me of certain approaches to music that deconstruct the rhythm or chord structure (like the guitar and bagpipes together in “Icky Thump” by the White Stripes). I call this deconstructivist music though I’ve never heard the term used like this. When it’s done right so that there’s a delay or jump in the beat or melody it makes the music sound fractured or like it’s falling apart at the seams. I wrote a post on it once.
      http://thestaggeringferret.wordpress.com/2012/05/20/deconstructivist-music/

      • 12kilroy Says:

        Thanks. (I know the term from criticism, knew a variation of it was used in architecture, but never thought of it in terms of a style of music. I have thought certain pieces of classical music, though on their surface ‘traditional’ worked by deconstructing the hearer’s assumptions about music. But that’s a separate notion.)


        • Ah yes. The Blue Danube Waltz similarly does something like that about a minute and a half inward. I consider it a deconstructivist element. I don’t think of deconstructivism in music as a genre but a way of composing to “deconstruct the hearer’s assumptions about music.”

          I know little about the criticism. I’ve got to read about it.

      • 12kilroy Says:

        OK – I read your post on deconstructivist music. I get what you mean. (It may seem surprising, but we are actually talking about the same thing. Just a few centuries removed.)

        My lack of familiarity with architecture and surprise at the use of the term threw me, I think.

        Thanks.


You disagree:

